Randon reorder of consist in scenario enhancement request

Help and support forum for Mike Simpson's RW Tools

Moderator: mikesimpson

Randon reorder of consist in scenario enhancement request

Unread postby cnwfan » Tue Jun 06, 2017 10:29 am

Hi Mike,

Would it be possible to include functionality in the Edit Scenario form that would allow for random reordering of a consist? My thought is that a user would highlight a block of rail vehicles in the consist listing (similar to doing a rail vehicle replace), and would click a button that would randomly reorder the cars and randomly change the car direction. Currently, I'm trying to add randomness when I'm making the consist in the scenario editor, but adding a single car at a time is a pain. It would be a lot easier to add a single block of each type of car, and let the computer do the randomizing. Just thought I'd ask. Thanks!
************************
Howard (cnwfan)
Dyersville, IA
Oelwein & Western Route
cnwfan
 
Posts: 148
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 5:16 pm
Location: Dyersville, IA

Re: Randon reorder of consist in scenario enhancement request

Unread postby mikesimpson » Tue Jun 06, 2017 6:49 pm

Hi Howard,

I will have a look at that and see if it is possible. Can't promise anything as one of my PCs is playing up since a Windows 10 update which has stopped my programming in its tracks (so to speak), so I am going to have to transfer everything to my other PC.

Mike
mikesimpson
Forum Mod
 
Posts: 284
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2009 5:49 pm

Re: Randon reorder of consist in scenario enhancement request

Unread postby cnwfan » Tue Jun 06, 2017 8:20 pm

No problem, and thank you for considering this enhancement!
************************
Howard (cnwfan)
Dyersville, IA
Oelwein & Western Route
cnwfan
 
Posts: 148
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 5:16 pm
Location: Dyersville, IA

Re: Randon reorder of consist in scenario enhancement request

Unread postby JohnS » Wed Jun 07, 2017 6:02 am

I was just wondering about this the other day. I remember a utility for MSTS that would do this.
John Stephens
Locomotive Engineer
Marquette Rail
Genesee & Wyoming Inc.
User avatar
JohnS
 
Posts: 651
Joined: Sun Dec 29, 2013 7:48 am
Location: Ludington MI

Re: Randon reorder of consist in scenario enhancement request

Unread postby mikesimpson » Wed Jun 07, 2017 6:59 pm

Hi Howard,

I had a look at this and it will be more difficult than I anticipated as each item in a consist includes its position on the track. So there will possibly be problems if you scramble the position of items which are not all the same size. When I get time I will have a look at this, but can't promise anything.

Mike
mikesimpson
Forum Mod
 
Posts: 284
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2009 5:49 pm

Re: Randon reorder of consist in scenario enhancement request

Unread postby JohnS » Wed Jun 07, 2017 9:04 pm

mikesimpson wrote:Hi Howard,

I had a look at this and it will be more difficult than I anticipated as each item in a consist includes its position on the track. So there will possibly be problems if you scramble the position of items which are not all the same size. When I get time I will have a look at this, but can't promise anything.

Mike

Thanks for trying Mike!
John Stephens
Locomotive Engineer
Marquette Rail
Genesee & Wyoming Inc.
User avatar
JohnS
 
Posts: 651
Joined: Sun Dec 29, 2013 7:48 am
Location: Ludington MI

Re: Randon reorder of consist in scenario enhancement request

Unread postby cnwfan » Wed Jun 07, 2017 9:44 pm

No problem Mike... completely understand. Thank you for looking into this!
************************
Howard (cnwfan)
Dyersville, IA
Oelwein & Western Route
cnwfan
 
Posts: 148
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 5:16 pm
Location: Dyersville, IA

Re: Randon reorder of consist in scenario enhancement request

Unread postby cnwfan » Mon Aug 07, 2017 10:42 pm

Hi Mike,

I was wondering if you have had any progress in figuring this out. Thanks!
************************
Howard (cnwfan)
Dyersville, IA
Oelwein & Western Route
cnwfan
 
Posts: 148
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 5:16 pm
Location: Dyersville, IA

Re: Randon reorder of consist in scenario enhancement request

Unread postby mikesimpson » Tue Aug 08, 2017 6:54 pm

cnwfan wrote:Hi Mike,

I was wondering if you have had any progress in figuring this out. Thanks!


No, sorry, I was also looking at swapping complete consists, e.g. taking all of the rolling stock entries from one scenario and placing it in another. Unfortunately every bit of rolling stock in a scenario includes in its definition its location within the game, so although I could move it, it ended up miles away from where it should be.

I am working on RW_Tools at the moment, so if I manage to come up with something, I will let you know.
mikesimpson
Forum Mod
 
Posts: 284
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2009 5:49 pm


Return to RW Tools

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests