Google Sketchup to 3D Canvas

Tips and discussion about scenery creation for RailWorks.

Re: Google Sketchup to 3D Canvas

Unread postby osonegro » Wed Jan 02, 2013 9:45 am

I have read tutorials, and tried many things in an attempt to get my model of the train shed from Sketchup to Railworks via 3D Crafter but nothing seems to work. I am able to get simpler models through this route, i.e. the windows by themselves or the doors by themselves, I even took off the whole roof and tried to get just the walls, doors and windows to work and that didn't work either. I import the model, apply textures, merge all the meshes, apply textures to any hidden surfaces that I didn't get in the beginning, export it to railworks, create the blueprint, but when I try to see it using the asset editor, its not there.

I have been at this now for a couple of weeks and I think I am calling it quits. I have no idea how people are doing this. I think you have to build the model either in 3ds Max or in 3D Crafter. I'm not sure I have the patience to go through the learning curve for either program and then find out that does not work either. Perhaps my idea of doing a prototypical route of the Shasta Division was wishful thinking.
osonegro
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2012 2:58 pm

Re: Google Sketchup to 3D Canvas

Unread postby jpetersjr » Fri Jan 04, 2013 6:57 am

Have you put a default texture from 3D Crafter onto every part in sketchup that will be seen. You have to do this to help hold the faces in when exporting.

Have you right clicked and then made all objects in sketchup into one group. You have to do this and make the object a component to make sure everything appears where it should be. This works most of the time.

Have you downloaded the freeware Blender and exported from sketchup as a (dae, Collada File)
After you export the file as a dae what you do is import into Blender and then export from there as a 3DS file. Then you simply import it into 3D Crafter Pro.

I've noticed that this is one of the easiest ways to import from sketchup.

If you still have problems after this write me and we'll try to figure it out.
If we work at it we can bring back the 30's and the 60's to Railworks.

My website for the progress of the assets for the upcoming freeware NRL Riverland Lines route.
http://www.i-m.mx/jpetersjr/BigJProductions/
Be sure to check my website everyday since there will often be some more progress on the assets for the route.

Jonathan Peters Jr
User avatar
jpetersjr
 
Posts: 2686
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2011 6:31 pm
Location: Mobile, Alabama, United States,

Re: Google Sketchup to 3D Canvas

Unread postby osonegro » Fri Jan 04, 2013 7:56 am

jpetersjr wrote:Have you put a default texture from 3D Crafter onto every part in sketchup that will be seen. You have to do this to help hold the faces in when exporting.

Have you right clicked and then made all objects in sketchup into one group. You have to do this and make the object a component to make sure everything appears where it should be. This works most of the time.

Have you downloaded the freeware Blender and exported from sketchup as a (dae, Collada File)
After you export the file as a dae what you do is import into Blender and then export from there as a 3DS file. Then you simply import it into 3D Crafter Pro.

I've noticed that this is one of the easiest ways to import from sketchup.

If you still have problems after this write me and we'll try to figure it out.


Yes to all except exporting to Blender. I have sketchup pro and exported to a .obj file and then imported into 3D Crafter. I was following one of the tutorials. I also tried to export to a 3DS file but did not get good results. I am currently getting some help from PapaXpress so we will see what happens I am making the model and textures available to him. Be happy to do the same with you if you can help or want to. At least to tell me what I'm doing wrong.
osonegro
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2012 2:58 pm

Re: Google Sketchup to 3D Canvas

Unread postby osonegro » Fri Jan 04, 2013 12:39 pm

jpetersjr wrote:...............Have you right clicked and then made all objects in sketchup into one group. You have to do this and make the object a component to make sure everything appears where it should be. This works most of the time..........


If you do this doesn't this make it hard to apply different textures to different parts of the model??
osonegro
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2012 2:58 pm

Re: Google Sketchup to 3D Canvas

Unread postby jpetersjr » Sat Jan 05, 2013 10:47 am

Not at all, you will have to texture it again in 3D Crafter anyways. This just holds the faces so your model doesn't export over with faces missing.

This doesn't effect texturing in 3D Crafter, this just helps so that your pieces export over in the correct place and most of the time when they import into Crafter they won't be separated from the model.
If we work at it we can bring back the 30's and the 60's to Railworks.

My website for the progress of the assets for the upcoming freeware NRL Riverland Lines route.
http://www.i-m.mx/jpetersjr/BigJProductions/
Be sure to check my website everyday since there will often be some more progress on the assets for the route.

Jonathan Peters Jr
User avatar
jpetersjr
 
Posts: 2686
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2011 6:31 pm
Location: Mobile, Alabama, United States,

Re: Google Sketchup to 3D Canvas

Unread postby StampedePass » Sun Jan 06, 2013 11:37 pm

jpetersjr wrote:Will this work to export to Blender as well?


For you guys using Blender, this is worth a look.

http://home.exetel.com.au/randomsoftwar ... al_09.html

And I will add this as well..

User avatar
StampedePass
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2012 7:05 pm

Re: Google Sketchup to 3D Canvas

Unread postby CARex » Mon Jan 28, 2013 8:47 pm

Trust me... I'm no 3DC Guru. If anything… still a novice after a year (don't get a lot of free time).

Michael turned me on to this free 'SU-2-3DC exporter' (ObjExporter.rb). It is simple, EZ and quietly works replete with textures.

Simply place the .rb into your SU Plugins folder. Start SU (with model of interest), click on FILE, scroll about 2/3rd way down the list, click on 'OBJexporter'... at the bottom of the SU screen several comments will speed by. Too fast to read.

At the end of the comments (about 15 seconds) check your 'Desktop' (or wherever). There should be three new files. (name).obj, (name).textures and (name).mtl.

Open 3DC. Select FILE/Import/Wavefront(obj)... select your (name).obj. At the new 3DC import Options window... check the
'Invert YZ' option. Check the 'Swap' option.

Your model is now in 3DC complete with textures.

The .rb file can be found here...
http://rhin.crai.archi.fr/rld/author_details.php?id=94

Scroll down to OBJ Exporter, select it and download at next screen.
User avatar
CARex
 
Posts: 166
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 4:11 pm
Location: Now of... West Melbourne, FL US

Previous

Return to Scenery Design

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest